How Will A DUI Conviction Effect My Life? Temecula, Murrieta, Wildomar, Menifee DUI Defense Law Office of Nicolai Cocis

How Will A DUI Conviction Effect My Life? Temecula, Murrieta, Wildomar, Menifee DUI Defense Law Office of Nicolai Cocis

A driving under the influence charge is not something to take lightly. Most first DUI convictions in Riverside County are considered a misdemeanor.

According to the Center For Disease Control and Prevention, "every day, 29 people in the United States die in motor vehicle crashes that involve an alcohol-impaired driver. This is one death every 50 minutes. The annual cost of alcohol-related crashes totals more than $44 billion."

Driving under the influence is not a victimless crime, and is not brushed off by the Riverside County District Attorney’s Office. Punishment is swift and severe, and will turn your life upside down in a bad way. Having a good attorney from our Law Office of Nicolai Cocis, could help you get your life back on track.

What Legal Penalties Will You Be Facing?

The following are the typical legal penalties for a first offense DUI in Riverside County according to the California DMV:

  • Fines between $390- $1000, plus any fees implemented by the court. Total fines and fees add to nearly $2000.
  • 6 month suspension of driver's license
  • Driving under the influence program (minimum of 3 months)
  • 3 year term of informal probation
  • A night in jail at time of arrest

Besides the legal penalties, your car will most likely be impounded and taken to the nearest impound lot where you will have to pay a large fee, usually a few hundred dollars, to get it back.

Also, if you work at a state job, in the medical field, or a job that requires you to have a driver's license, you can legally be fired by your employer for a first offense DUI conviction.

What is Informal Probation?

On informal probation you will not have a supervising probation officer and you do not have to check in like you do on formal felony probation. On informal probation you will report directly to the courts, usually only if you:

  • Have a change of address
  • Are arrested or violate probation
  • Are submitting proof of probation requirements

Failing to comply with your terms of probation could lead to a warrant out for your arrest and jail time. Make sure you know and understand the terms of your probation, and that you clearly know exactly what you need to do to stay out of anymore trouble.

If you have been arrested for a misdemeanor DUI or a felony DUI in Temecula, Menifee, Murrieta, Wildomar, Lake Elsinore, Hemet, Perris, Corona or any other surrounding Riverside County city, it's important that you obtain the best representation from an experienced DUI defense attorney. Contact our law office immediately to schedule a free and confidential consultation. We represent adults and juveniles/minors in all the Riverside County courts.

Related Posts
  • Negligent Discharge of a Firearm: Navigating the Complexities of Penal Code 246.3(a) Read More
  • Romanian Criminal Defense Lawyer in California | Nationwide Federal Cases Read More
  • Overview of the California Juvenile Justice System Read More