California Penalties for Domestic Violence Temecula and Murrieta Defense Attorney

Did you know that you can be charged with domestic violence when making even the slightest physical contact with the other individual? For example, pursuant to Penal Code section 243(e)(1), a person can be arrested for domestic violence if he or she made a "offensive" contact with a person with whom he or she was romantically involved at some point.

In California, crimes related to domestic violence can pose serious consequences for the unsuspecting individual. Those accused of domestic violence can face hefty penalties in California whether guilty or not. Once arrested, the individual will face a mandatory bail setting of $50,000. Depending on circumstances surrounding the accusations, bail could meet or exceed that amount.

Once an individual accuses another person of domestic violence in California, they may not be able to drop the charges. The accused will have to complete the process, from arrest to trial even if they were falsely accused.

Once bond is posted, the accused faces severe charges which can include, but are not limited to:

  • Staggering court fees
  • The likelihood of jail time
  • Compensation paid to the victim to cover costs such as medical bills, damage to property, and psychological counseling fees
  • The convicted must attend and pay for a mandatory anger management program
  • Fines which can equal up to or over few thousand dollars
  • Mandatory probation period of up to 5 years
  • Loss of the right to bear arms for a period of 10 years up to lifetime

Your best line of defense when charged with domestic violence is retaining the services of a lawyer who is intimately familiar with California domestic violence and battery laws.

At the Law Office of Nic Cocis & Associates, we understand your concern when charged with a criminal act. It is important to speak with an attorney as soon as you are able. We invite you to contact us for a free and confidential consultation regarding your criminal case. We can help! We proudly serve individuals in the Temecula, Murrieta, Lake Elsinore, Hemet, Corona and Riverside areas.

Categories:

Start Your Defense Today

Do not hesitate to contact us by calling (951) 666-2605 or filling out the contact form below.
We review your case for free to determine the best course of action.

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.