2nd DUI Offense in Temecula, Murrieta or Hemet
When you or a loved one has been arrested for or charged with driving under the influence (DUI) more than once, it can feel like all of the cards are stacked against you. At the Law Office of Nicolai Cocis & Associates, we offer personalized service from an experienced and respected Temecula and Murrieta multiple DUI attorney. Your attorney will handle your case from start to finish. Your case will not be passed on to less experienced lawyers.
Temecula DUI 2nd Offense Attorney | Handling Cases of Multiple DUIs
Riverside County court and DMV processes follow basic guidelines for consequences of multiple DUI arrests and convictions. Consequences become more severe as the number of arrests increase. They can also be elevated if you have young passengers in the vehicle, if your license was already suspended or revoked, if there was reckless driving involved, or if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was above .15 percent.
Consequences of multiple DUIs typically include:
- Summary or formal probation: Depending on the number of DUI offenses, you could be placed on summary probation, which does not involve regular meetings with a probation officer. For people with four or more offenses, formal probation is more likely.
- Fines and the enhanced collections program: For individuals who have had one to three DUI charges, court fees and fines can amount to approximately $2,800. Once a fourth offense has occurred, fines can increase dramatically. Payment plans can often be arranged through the enhanced collections program.
- Driver's license suspension and revocation: For a first-time offender, licenses are suspended for up to six months, but after the first 30 days of your suspension, an attorney may be able to secure a restricted license that permits driving to school or work. As DUI offenses increase, license suspension times and restricted license eligibility requirements increase.
- DUI classes and counseling: DUI classes and counseling session requirements can vary depending on BAC level and the number of repeat offenses you have. Required sessions could last for as little as four months for first-time offenders, and as much as 30 months for repeat offenders.
- Incarceration, labor programs and house arrest: For first, second and third DUI offenses, jail time can sometimes be changed to time spent in the Sheriff's Labor Program or house arrest. When you reach a fourth DUI offense, the misdemeanor offense turns into a DUI felony charge. You could face up to three years of incarceration in a California state prison on a fourth offense.
When you contact us, we will work to mitigate consequences, protect your driving privileges and keep you out of jail.
Talk to an Experienced Attorney Immediately
If you are facing multiple DUI charges, contact us at 951-842-2347 to schedule a free initial consultation. Our office is located near the Southwest Justice Center in Murrieta, California, and we represent clients throughout Southwest Riverside County and surrounding areas.
We offer Spanish and Romanian language services, and accept AMEX, Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards.